Story A Day Challenge – Day 22 – Teenage Love

Today’s prompt brought back memories of the time I ruined Thanksgiving at my mother’s house by calling my sister-in-law something that was fitting (and man did she deserve it) but inappropriate for the setting. It certainly caused a lot of drama! I thought to write about it but then another story decided it wanted to be written. A story as old as time. Enjoy!


Teenage Love

“But I love him!” Jez yelled at her father, regretting this had to happen at the family reunion. Her entire family stood before her while her new boyfriend kept to the edge of the field they were gathered in.

“I don’t care if you love him. He’s not right for you and you know it.”

“Well I don’t care what you say. Romeo and I are going to be together.”

“You can’t. He’s a predator!” her father yelled.

“Don’t judge him before you even meet him Dad!” shouted back. She glanced back at Romeo to see if he was offended but he had no expression on his face, as usual.

“I don’t want to meet him. I can clearly see he’s a snake.”

“He’s a vegetarian.”

“Why do dumb little girls always fall for that line? Look Jez, he’s a snake, you’re a cricket. It would never work.” To prove his point he hopped to the serpent, who promptly ate him. The family scattered.

Jez was never fooled by a smooth talking creep again.


The Prompt

 Write a short story about a family gathering where things don’t quite work out as expected. It can be a social event at work or a family holiday that goes spectacularly wrong, you choose.


I was going to make it a 100 word story but I felt compelled to put the part about the snake having no expression on his face as usual. I hate snakes. I think it’s safe to say there is no creature on earth I despise more than snakes, with perhaps the exception of lying, hormone driven teenage boys lol.

Rough draft 174 words.

5 comments

Leave a comment